This historic building is also the home of the Girls’ Education Director and a female residential duty staff member.
The building’s history dates from 1919 when the then Headmaster, Rev H K Archdall, persuaded the Board to establish a Junior School. The following year Mrs Nora Dangar, widow of Old Boy Clive Collingwood Dangar of ‘Gostwyck’ Uralla, who had been killed in the First World War, offered to pay for the building and equipping of a Junior House to be named in honour of her late husband, who had been one of the original students at TAS. Awarded the Military Cross for outstanding war service, he died soon after returning to Australia to recuperate from war injuries.
With the introduction of co-education in 2016, new life is being breathed into Dangar which will continue to be a place where life-long friendships are forged and memories made.
What gives TAS the Edge? Explore for yourself how a TAS education can benefit your son or daughter at our Scholarship and Open Day on 12 March, 2018 from 11am. All welcome!