Middle School

The TAS Middle School curriculum offers a rich, challenging and stimulating program, designed to generate an enthusiasm for learning and instil the value of learning as a lifelong process.

The curriculum aims to develop a strong foundation of skills, knowledge and understanding while meeting the unique needs of adolescent students in Years 6–8.

Central to our philosophy is the belief that pupil motivation and self-esteem are undermined, not when too much is expected of them, but too little. Students need to be challenged by offering them an array of learning experiences, by setting high standards and by providing opportunities for students to be responsible and accountable for their learning. We believe that we will achieve this goal by providing a demanding, adventurous and well-balanced curriculum.

Our Middle School is staffed by a team of talented homeroom teachers who are committed to working with this age group.

Our Middle School program provides the means for students to experience a smooth transition from primary to the senior school in an environment that fosters a sense of belonging, stability, security and happiness.

The curriculum in Year 6 is mandated by the Board of Studies Teaching and Educational Standards (BOSTES) and is delivered in the first year of our Middle School. Subjects include English, HSIE, Mathematics, Science, Visual Arts and Positive Education (all taught by the homeroom teacher) and specialty subjects of Drama, PDHPE, Music and Language (French or Japanese)..

The curriculum in Years 7 and 8 is mandated by the Board of Studies Teaching and Educational Standards and is delivered at The Armidale School in the following way:

  • English and Human Society and its Environment (HSIE) – taught by the homeroom teacher
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • French or Japanese
  • Music
  • Technology
  • Visual Arts
  • Drama
  • Christian Development (School determined course)
  • Positive Education

In term 3 of Year 8, students begin the process of choosing electives for Year 9.